Front loads and high trail Part 2

So I have almost two months riding this set-up, about 70 hours. Here are some things I’ve noticed. Remember this bike is set-up with 650bx42 tires and has a trail of 75mm.

The more I ride the set-up the better it feels. I seem to be adapting to the way the load changes the handling. Feels like a normal bike now whereas before it felt a little weird.

It’s more akin to riding a mountain bike than a road bike. Turning at high speed requires body english, leaning the bike and paying attention to where my weight is. It feels totally natural to go from my 80ish-mm trail 29er mountain bike to this bike.

It’s slower. On a strict mile-per-hour basis it doesn’t seem like much; maybe .5-.7 miles per hour per 3-4 hours. But really that’s around 3%-7% speed decrease, not insignificant in those terms. I think this might have to do with a combination of the cornering and climbing changes due to how the front load moves up and down as the handlebars move left and right. In essence, I’m not just pedaling the bike forward I’m keeping the front wheel tracking straight and this requires more power than before. My current load is only 2-3 pounds heavier than what I was carrying in my saddle bag and on my person so I’m not convinced it’s weight related. Might be small aero losses as well or that could just be from wearing a loose cotton t-shirt. Oh well.

2017-02-07_14-14-17

There’s an inspired confidence to being able to carry necessities in an easily accessible location. I roll around with a full my full winter complement of additional clothes and have no stress about being caught unaware by weather. If I decide to change my two hour ride to a four hour ride I have extra batteries and clothes to accommodate this.

Find a three pound 16-inch wrench in the middle of the road? Pick it up and strap it to your rack!

Lots of rain and 20 degree temperature variation? Strap all the clothes you own to your rack and go for a ride.

This needs a handlebar bag or basket or something. I’ve got a handlebar bag working but I’ve just been strapping stuff to the rack and each other like a bicycle hobo so it works ok but bags/baskets would be better.

I am deep into my imitation of Patrick Plaine, at least in style if not necessarily in substance.

2017-02-02_10-59-13

Still above is from this short film: https://vimeo.com/58201809

 

Leave a Reply

