Drop-Bar MTB Fitting Update #2

 

So I saw this bike from Peter Verdone:

http://www.peterverdone.com/hybrids-are-back/

And then spent some time thinking about how my drop-bar MTB is currently fit. I did some measuring and realized I am riding the equivalent of a 160mm stem!

Recognizing this completely changed my riding style.

Link to ride

I really took some time to work my body position back and get some weight off the front wheel and it really shows. My time on descents has been super-fast and the bike feels amazingly stable and fun at speed in the drops. I am so excited to ride this bike during this years gravel races. Even been thinking about running it in some of the chainbuster MTB races – I wonder if it would be a problem to show up with drops?

I was so excited at how well I was riding I took the time to stop and note things in my phone so I wouldn’t forget. Seems like going back and forth between bikes makes it easy to ride the harder bike poorly if I’m not vigilant in paying attention to what I’m doing.

 

Leave a Reply

