Bye to the DX350

IMG_1960

Felled by a cracked chainstay right behind the dimple. I was actually prepping for a ride and had the bike upside down going over my Hetres with a headlamp removing the embedded glass bits that eventually work their way through and cause flats when I noticed the crack. It’s been broken for quite a while as I remember creaking specific to one side when climbing out of the saddle with a lot of power several weeks ago.

Well, the frame had a pretty good run. I did four really awesome gravel races and spent a lot of interesting miles in the fall riding 650b tires. I had a back up frame all ready to go so the parts swap took 3-4 hours Saturday morning while my girlfriend made pancakes and my cat chewed on every available piece of metal. New bike is a Soma Double Cross Disc with the DX350’s fork. So far it rides awesome and I really like the steel frame/carbon fork combo.

Leave a Reply

