2015 In Review

2017-01-23_14-50-42

2015 was a big year. I started gravel racing, I did my first 200k and overall did 10 rides of 100 miles or more and an additional 14 rides of at least 85 miles.

I spent the entire summer June-August riding for 6-10 hours every Saturday. It was amazing, I rode so far and so fast and saw so many cool things. My last two rides I woke-up at 4am and was on the road for 8:58 and 9:49 respectively. I learned how awesome it is to be 70 miles from home, riding in the summer sun without a care in the world. Distance came easy as it was routine.

Once Fall hit I started riding for at least 5 and a half hours every Friday. I’d fly home from work, change and then just blast around until I was so exhausted I would limp home. It was great, really gave me something to look forward to every week.

I converted to 650bx42 and found the tires amazing. They were fast, comfortable and agile. A really big improvement for me over the 700cx25 tires I was using previously.

Late summer I started hiking for anywhere for 45 minutes in the morning and 45 minutes to an hour in the evening. It made me strong and helped me lose weight and get really fit. For the my last three races from August-October.

Overall I had a good, satisfying year. Minimal race pressure and I was just really happy with how my riding went.

Races

  • Assault on Mt. Currahee
  • Southern Cross
  • Shake ‘n’ Brake
  • Red Clay Ramble
  • Samurai Hill Alleycat
  • Sac ‘o Suds 50
Leave a Reply

